Akron basketball earns regular season awards

The Mid-American Conference (MAC) started announcing their awards for the regular season on Monday and The University of Akron has been well-represented.

Four Zips earned All-MAC selections. Isaiah Johnson was named First-Team All-MAC. Reggie McAdams earned a Second-Team All-MAC selection, Antino Jackson earned Honorable Mention, and Josh Williams was named to the All-Freshman Team.

“It was nice to see four of our guys receive All-MAC honors,” said head coach Keith Dambrot. “Many times due to our depth and balance, some of our other guys don’t always receive the credit they deserve.”

On Tuesday, Johnson was also named as the MAC Sixth Man of the Year. The fifth Zip to earn this honor, he joins Jake Kretzer (2014), Quincy Diggs (2012), Brett McKnight (2009) and Cedrick Middleton (2007).

“In the sixth-man role, he competes at high level and leads the team in scoring, field goal percentage, and rebounding. Isaiah is the true definition of a great teammate,” Dambrot said.

Finally for the men, on Wednesday the MAC announced Dambrot as Coach of the Year.

“I’m honored to win this award,” Dambrot said. “There are a lot of great coaches in this league. This is a tribute to our team and coaching staff’s dedication and continued success.”

Dambrot is the first Zips coach to win Coach of the Year more than once. He also won the award in 2013. The only other Akron coach to receive the honor of coach of the year was Dan Hipsher in 1998.

Dambrot has a 276-128 record in his 12 years here at Akron.

The women’s team was also represented, as it was announced that Anita Brown was named to the All-MAC First Team and Hannah Plybon earned All-Mac Second Team.

A season ago, Brown was named to the second team. This season, averaging 21.3 points a game, she leads not only the Zips, but also the MAC in scoring.

Plybon scored in double figures in 25 games this year earned her first season award in her Akron career.